Eugene Field

No book can be appreciated until it has been slept with and dreamed over.

– Eugene Field

91616

born in St. Louis, Missouri, The United States September 02, 1850
died: November 04, 1895
gender: male
genre: Poetry, Essays

September 2, 1850: American poet and humorist Eugene Field wrote popular nursery rhymes like “Little Boy Blue” as well as a newspaper column. He was born in St. Louis, Missouri, 163 years ago today.

http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/91616.Eugene_Field

16 thoughts on “Eugene Field

  1. I just wrote last night about my best friends in childhood. Books! I bet I slept and dreampt on hundreds of them! πŸ™‚

    • As kids, we (my family) always went to bed with a book each.
      The full quote is: β€œAll good and true book-lovers practice the pleasing and improving avocation of reading in bed … No book can be appreciated until it has been slept with and dreamed over.”
      ― Eugene Field, The Love Affairs of a Bibliomaniac

  2. Perhaps, but wouldn’t you just hate to do that with Quo Vadis?

  3. For me, dog eared, marked with pencil and highlighter, spilled coffee…..

  4. Now it is the notebook or the Ipad. Technology! I get to read whatever I want with the touch of a button now, in bed or out. I love it for that!! πŸ™‚

    • Yes, we have more choices now but I hope that technology dies not spell the end of the book that you can leaf through, ear/bookmark and put in the book-shelf.

      • Yes I agree it is not the same. For some reason the tangible feel of the book makes the experience all the more intimate. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

