The world

The world is like that — incomprehensible and full of surprises .

– Jorge Amado

52683

born in Itabuna (Bahia), Brazil August 10, 1912
died: August 06, 2001
gender: male
website: http://www.fundacaojorgeamado.com.br/ing/jorge_…
genre: Literature & Fiction

Jorge Amado de Faria was a Brazilian writer of the Modernist school. He was the best-known of modern Brazilian writers, his extensive work having been translated into some 30 languages and popularised in film, notably Dona Flor and her Two Husbands, (in Portuguese, Dona Flor e Seus Dois Maridos) in 1978. His work dealt largely with the poor urban black and mulatto communities of Bahia.

http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/52683.Jorge_Amado

13 thoughts on “The world

  1. August 10, 1912: Celebrated Brazilian writer Jorge Amado was was born in Bahia, 101 years ago today.

  2. And the professor is one of them!

  3. Surpise…. I love surprise. 😛

  4. He was definitely for the underdogs if he wrote about them. At least that is my take on his writings of which I nothing but now I might remember his name.

    • “I have already told you Father, more than once: I’m not going to subject myself to a husband chosen for me, I’m not going to bury myself in some planter’s kitchen, and I’m not going to be a servant to some doctor or lawyer in Ilhéus. I want to live my own life. When I finish school at the end of the year, I want to go to work in an office”
      ― Jorge Amado, Gabriela, Clavo y Canela

  5. Well said about the world, perhaps people…

    • “…it is a very risky thing for anyone to go about proclaiming the truth simply because he finds himself in possession of concrete documentary proofs or on the evidence of his own eyes, which is always overestimated.”
      ― Jorge Amado

Leave a Reply

