LETTER FROM GREENPEACE

Dear Ela

My job has its perks. Recently, I got to take a few seasoned journalists to visit a little-known but beautiful area inside the Great Barrier Reef, one of the great wonders of the world.

Now, forgive me, but most journalists I’ve met have seen a lot and they’re not easily impressed. But when we found ourselves in the beyond picture-perfect waters surrounding Holbourne Island National Park, teeming with magnificent coral, fish, turtles and rare snubfin dolphins… well, let’s just say I never saw eyes quite so wide.

They were shocked to learn that this location is just a few kilometres from where a huge coal terminal could be built. I wish I could take every Australian there. I wish I could give each one of our politicians who looks the other way a guided tour and show them why this place needs protection.

In the meantime, what I can do is continue to fight the coal companies who want to wreck our Reef. I can do that because of you, and the support you give Greenpeace. Can you join me, and defend the Great Barrier Reef against this destruction by making a tax-deductible donation to Greenpeace today?

DONATE NOW

Thanks so much.

Louise Matthiesson
Queensland Community Campaigner
Greenpeace Australia Pacific

PS. Don’t take my word for it. Watch this short video for yourself we captured on the day. Please chip in what you can to keep this place beautiful.

PPS. If you’ve already made your tax-time donation, thank you. We really appreciate your support.

Greenpeace Australia Pacific is part of a global movement of people taking action for a green and peaceful future. Read more about our work at http://www.greenpeace.org.au. We rely entirely on voluntary donations to carry out our campaigns. If you’d like to contribute to support our work, please donate now. To ask a question, send feedback or change your details please contact us.

16 thoughts on “LETTER FROM GREENPEACE

  1. Help save the Reef, please. 🙂

  2. Yah, the same problem in P.I.

  3. Hi Ela, Here’s one of my poems:
    Next Life
    Friend, wife, mother?
    Animal-lover?
    Greenpeace warrior?
    Whale?

Leave a Reply

