Can the mind heal the body?

13 thoughts on “Can the mind heal the body?

  1. There is scientific evidence that it can! πŸ˜€

  2. Monika Amita Bakshi

    I am a Nicherin Buddhist. Strangely, this Buddhist Philosophy also tells the same thing – everything is in mind. Not only our health, but also our career and personal lives depend on how we think. The more we throw positive energies outside, the more positive our life gets. Thanks for sharing! πŸ™‚

    • Isn’t it wonderful?! πŸ˜€
      Nichiren Buddhism emphasizes the sanctity of life and absolute non-violence: β€œTo deprive a being of life is to commit the gravest kind of sin”

  3. Wonderful talks by Lissa Rankin.
    As I’ve learned, if I’m willing to feel than I’ll know which direction my mind is going, fear or love. Which voice am I listening to, the voice,which comes from fear or the voice that is connected to love.

  4. This is right up my alley. I’ll share a little personal story as a thank you. When I was at my worst with Lyme disease, with meningitis and paralysis, I couldn’t sleep from the pain. I didn’t want to take pain medications (don’t know why) and one night I got up, sat in a chair in our dinning room and tried breathing meditation which didn’t help all that much. I think imagined a soft yellow healing light surrounding my entire body, bathing it, soaking it, and before too long I felt better (really better) and could go to sleep. Doubtful as I age and my memory fades, that this will be forgotten. In the context of me being a western medicine provider (integrative really with a good slant on alternative-if it’s been researched and shown to actually work and do no harm), who taught ER med through UCLA, and still do women’s health, this is not some vapid comment just for story sake. The mind can heal. The mind can kill. There are cases of people getting wrong cancer diagnoses and dying from cancer, to only have the family find out after that they received the wrong lab reports (one such is written in one of Andrew Weil’s books on healing).

    Last few words:
    positive thoughts produce serotonin and endorphins.
    negative thoughts produce adrenaline and cortisone. Cortisone suppressed the immune system. So does the HIV virus, if you get the drift.

    Great post and I love Lissa Rankin.
    ( wag to Tara)

    • Oh wow, what a wonderful story! Thank you so much for sharing it. So, the moral of the story is give your mind a chance to heal your body! I’ll be in that! πŸ˜€
      Woof-woof from Tara! πŸ˜›

      • The mind is incredibly powerful and can do a lot of good. All in balance though. Holistic includes western where it can help, but to discern where that is is tricky. Before the School of Medicine in Santa Barbara closed, they asked me to teach the emergency medicine (western med)component to their students. They had two other western med providers (ortho doc and internal med doc) who did their specialties. I brought Terry along to answer any legal questions. It was very interesting to hear what the students said they would handle on their own, without sending someone to an emergency room. It made for a lively debate and discussion but some beliefs loosening up a little. I’ve learned to embrace eastern/alternate and hope that others off the bell curve with it’s all mental or all alternative see the value in when western is important, and could be life saving. As you can tell, in addition to dogs and tolerance, this is another of my passions, but it’s also my job, lol.

      • It is great when your job is also your passion! That class you taught sounds like it was a lot of fun and of course, educational for the students.:)
        Obviously, if your appendix is on the verge of bursting, an appendicectomy would be the prudent choice but in a lot of other less acute or less straight-forward cases, the power of the mind could be the answer. Even with appendicitis, your mind plays a powerful role in the post-op healing, etc.
        Isn’t it wonderful?! πŸ˜€

      • Agree! Common sense shouldn’t be trumped by a belief in something. But then who am I to question beliefs, lol. Have a great day. paw

      • πŸ˜† Good night!

Leave a Reply

