If you name me…

If you name me,
you negate me.
By giving me a name, a label,
you negate all the other things
I could possibly be.

– Søren Kierkegaard

220px-Kierkegaard

From Wikipedia.

In 1847 Kierkegaard described his own view of the single individual:

‘God is not like a human being; it is not important for God to have visible evidence so that he can see if his cause has been victorious or not; he sees in secret just as well. Moreover, it is so far from being the case that you should help God to learn anew that it is rather he who will help you to learn anew, so that you are weaned from the worldly point of view that insists on visible evidence. (…) A decision in the external sphere is what Christianity does not want; (…) rather it wants to test the individual’s faith.’

12 thoughts on “If you name me…

  1. Of course ‘…it is not important for God to have visible evidence…’!

  2. When one leaves titles behind, one will realize a profound oneness.

  3. Gita, I don’t profess to understand poetry, but the note you shared ran thru my mind and found a place to set. Thank you. Bill

  4. Hi! I nominated you for the Lighthouse Award. Please get the badge at http://wp.me/p32YrK-1d2 and get more info. Have a very rewarding New Year. Blessings, belsbror

  5. when the world is about “me” it’s usually over, amen, great post

  6. Labels limit, define, control. I dislike them a great deal. I shudder when parents use labels to describe their children.

Leave a Reply

