RACISM

ABC newsreader Jeremy Fernandez has long experienced racism since moving to Australia as a teenager, but a 15-minute racist tirade he experienced in front of his young daughter left him particularly shaken. He asks, what makes people so ready to vent their hate in 2013?

Earlier today I had what I like to think of as my own Rosa Parks moment on a Sydney bus travelling through the inner-west from Marrickville to Stanmore.

It culminated in a woman, in the presence of her two school-aged kids, calling me a “black c***”. She told me to go back to my “own country”, and threatened to drag me off the bus as she raised her fist to my face.

The entire encounter lasted about 15 minutes, and is one of the most confronting instances of abuse I have experienced recently.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2013-02-08/fernandez-why-i-didnt-give-up-my-seat/4508686

screen-shot-2013-02-09-at-9-27-05-am– Form Mamamia

http://www.mamamia.com.au/news/racism-jeremy-fernandez-jamila-rizvi/?utm_source=Mamamia.com.au&utm_campaign=1da307ed8a-Mamamia_Newsletter&utm_medi

19 thoughts on “RACISM

  1. I am horrified but not surprised. 😦

  2. In front of his little girl as well! 😦

  3. I abhor any and all violations, but racism the most, as, to me, it represents the lowest, the most repulsive form of violation … and because it always makes me angry!

  4. This is so sad. People are people. We are all humans, not one color better than another. Definitely some souls are better than others though.

  5. Just because of his color… That is OUTRAGEOUS!!

  6. How can anyone white, in Aus, say something like that, given that Australia was originally inhabited by Aboriginals, not white people! Same as Americans (white) who say they’re ‘all-american’. No, you’re not. We all have mixed blood: none of us know our full ancestry… there is no such thing as a ‘pure’ englishman etc. That’s what makes racism and ‘patriotism’ even more ridiculous.

  7. I all the time emailed this web site post page to all my contacts, since if like to read it after that my links will too.

Leave a Reply

