The World Is a Book...

school of athens

The School of Athens frescoes in the Vatican is the master piece of Rapheal. He painted Leonardo da Vinci as Plato, Michelangelo as Heraclitus, and himself as Apelles (who was a renowned painter of ancient Greece in the 4th century BC). Rapheal formed the traditional trinity of great masters of any time on the painting.

Leonardo was more than thirty years older than Raphael, and Michelangelo was eight years his senior. Both Michelangelo and Raphael were in Rome the same period of time working on their commissions. In 1511, Michelangelo’s Sistine Ceiling and Raphael’s Stanze were completed.

Raphael_self_drawing

Leonardo died in Amboise, France, at 57 (April 15, 1452 – May 2, 1519); it was said that he died by the side of King Frances who brought aged Leonardo to Amboise.  Michelangelo lived to the age of 88 (March 6, 1475 – Feb. 18, 1564) three weeks before his 89th birthday; he requested to rest in his beloved Florence. In 1520, at 37, Raphael died on Good Friday (April 6); and he wanted to be buried in the Pantheon.

da_Vinci_-_Self-Portrait

“With the…

View original post 44 more words

12 thoughts on “

  1. Thank you so much for reblog it! 🙂

  2. Love it. Look at the depth of the painting. Def. way better than from camera (flat unless you do manually). Know all painters by name, but lost at lots of details. Thanks. Educational

  3. It is wonderful, is it not?!

    • I like to learn something everyday. Hey, I find a bit hard to get into your post by just clicking in you pretty swan avatar. I am wondering why your new post didn’t show up in my email too? sorry, I am pretty new to the media

      • Sorry, i don’t have the answer but it has happened to me, too.
        Just watched your fabulous utube post for Valentine’s Day. 🙂

      • Thank you. I am sure I’d figure out the answer some how.

        I have so much video clips for this Valentine event alone to edit to youtube that my computer kinda crushed on me. For now, I have to throw it a little “quickie” video to tie it through before I can mange to to make the whole 9 yard DIY video.

        Wish I can do the same kind of good quality HD video.

        Later Alligator. You folks have lots of those right?Haha,

      • I liked the vid., have to check the rest out. 🙂
        Sure we have gators but we call them crocs as in CROCODILE DUNDEE.
        Once, after a cyclone, a croc was found on a roundabout on the main highway.

      • CROCODILE DUNDEE, I like that guy. Holy croc, must have caused a scene.

      • It sure did, mate! 😀

      • Sorry, i don’t have the answer but it has happened to me, too, not getting posts/comments.
        I just added a link to poet4justice on my Gravatar page, hope that helps.
        Just watched your fabulous utube post for Valentine’s Day. 🙂

  4. Ok, thanks. Helps dummy like me.

Leave a Reply

